Nigeria Super Eagles coach Rohr names his 23-man final squad ahead of World Cup

Nigeria Super Eagles manager Gernot Rohrhas  picked the final 23 players who will lead Nigeria at the 2018 World Cup inRussia which is around the corner.

Captain John Obi Mikel, Elderson Echiejile, Eddy Onazi, Ahmed Musa, Kenneth Omeruo and Victor Moses will feature in a second World Cup after they were named on the roster.

Young Chelsea defender Ola Aina, Porto midfielder Mikel Agu and Gent’s Moses Simon will not be traveling with the national team to Russia after they were axed by Rohr.

The Nigeria squad contains three goalkeepers, eight defenders, six midfielders and six strikers.

Four players born outside Nigeria in the shape of Leon Balogun, Troost-Ekong, Tyronne Ebuehi and Brian Idowu have been selected in the group.

Aged 19, Deportivo Fabril’s Francis Uzoho is the only teenager in the squad while Chippa United’s Daniel Akpeyi, 31, is the oldest member of the team.

Nigeria 23-Man World Cup Squad

Goalkeepers (3): Francis Uzoho, Daniel Akpeyi, Ikechukwu Ezenwa

Defenders (8): Abdullahi Shehu, Tyronne Ebuehi, William Ekong, Leon Balogun, Chidozie Awaziem, Elderson Echiejile, Kenneth Omeruo, Bryan Idowu

Midfielders (6): Wilfred Ndidi, Mikel John Obi, Ogenyi Onazi, John Ogu, Oghenekaro Etebo, Joel Obi

Strikers (6): Odion Ighalo, Simeon Nwankwo, Alex Iwobi, Ahmed Musa, Kelechi Iheanacho, Victor Moses


Professional freelance, highly trained and always open to conversations. Ask admin any question on this post or any general matter that relates to this site. You are always in control!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Next Post

Iwobi's sister rocks the footballer's Super Eagles jersey no

Tue Jun 5 , 2018
Alex Iwobi‘s sister, Marie has drawn in full support for the footballer ahead of the 2018 FIFA World Cup in Russia. The 20-year old beauty was spotted rocking the new Super Eagles home jersey with the footballer’s number crested on it. This is coming in after NFF released the jersey […]

News Around the Globe

People Also Like

%d bloggers like this: