Which country and club have the most PFA Player of the Year award?

Estimated read time 4 min read
Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah made history on Sunday night by becoming the first Egyptian to win the Professional Footballers’ Association Players’ Player of the Year award.

He also became the club’s seventh player to claim the accolade and the first since Luis Suarez in 2014.
Salah equalled the record Suarez shares with Alan Shearer and Cristiano Ronaldo for 31 goals in a 38-game Premier League season after scoring in the Reds’ 2-2 draw at West Brom on Saturday.
After scoring 41 goals in his first year at Anfield, Salah edged the vote ahead of Manchester City’s Kevin De Bruyne.
Salah is looking to rewrite Liverpool’s record books by breaking the record for most goals in a season (47) that Ian Rush achieved in 1983-84.
Although the 25-year-old is the first player from Egypt to win the award he is not the first from Africa as Algeria’s Riyad Mahrez won the accolade when Leicester won the Premier League in the 2015-16 season.
England is the country with the most number of wins with 18, while Wales takes second place with six winners, with Rush and Ryan Giggs as well as Mark Hughes and Gareth Bale winning the award twice.
The 18 English winners are: Norman Hunter, Colin Todd, Peter Shilton, Terry McDermott, Kevin Keegan, Peter Reid, Gary Lineker, Clive Allen, John Barnes, David Platt, Gary Pallister, Shearer (twice), Les Ferdinand, Teddy Sheringham, John Terry, Steven Gerrard and Wayne Rooney.
French players have claimed the accolade five times and Thierry Henry is just one of two players to win it in successive seasons, while Eric Cantona, David Ginola and N’Golo Kante also won the prestigious award.
Portugal’s Cristiano Ronaldo is the other player to have won it in back-to-back campaigns, giving his country just two wins.
Scotland, the Republic of Ireland and Holland all have three victors, while Northern Ireland, Uruguay and Belgium join both African countries with one winner.
Andy Gray, John Wark and Kenny Dalglish were the Scottish winners, Liam Brady, Paul McGrath and Roy Keane claimed the accolade for the Republic of Ireland while Dennis Bergkamp, Ruud van Nistelrooy and Robin van Persie were the Dutch winners.
Norther Ireland’s sole winner is Pat Jennings in 1975-76 for Tottenham, Suarez was Uruguay’s winner and Eden Hazard claimed Belgium’s first.
In terms of clubs Manchester United lead the way above Liverpool with 11 winners, while Tottenham and Arsenal are in joint third behind the Reds with five.
United’s winners are Hughes, Pallister, Cantona, Keane, Sheringham, Van Nistelrooy, Ronaldo, Giggs and Rooney.
Alongside Salah and Suarez, McDermott, Dalglish, Rush, Barnes and Gerrard won the award playing for the Reds.
Allen, Ginola and Bale were Spurs’ winners with Jennings, while Brady, Bergkamp, Henry and Van Persie claimed the award playing for the Gunners.
Chelsea are behind their London rivals alongside Aston Villa with three. The Blues’ victorious trio were Terry, Hazard and Kante, who won it last season, while Villa’s were Gray, Platt and McGrath.
Everton and Newcastle have two winners each. The Toffees pair were Reid and Lineker while the Magpies duo were Ferdinand and Shearer.
Meanwhile, Leeds, Derby, Nottingham Forest, Ipswich, Southampton, Blackburn and Leicester have all had one player that won the accolade.
Leeds’ Hunter was the first player to be named PFA Player of the Year back in 1973-74, while Derby’s Todd won it in the following year.
Former England goalkeeper Shilton won Forest’s only award during the 1977-78 campaign, Wark claimed Ipswich’s, Keegan Southampton’s, Shearer Blackburn’s and Mahrez claimed the only winner for the Foxes.
Overall players from 12 different countries and 15 different clubs have won the PFA Player of the Year award.
From Toktok9ja Media

The views expressed in this article are the writer’s opinion, they do not reflect the views of the Publisher of TOKTOK9JA MEDIA. Please report any fake news, misinformation, or defamatory statements to toktok9ja@gmail.com


Professional freelancer and webmaster.

You May Also Like

More From Author

+ There are no comments

Add yours